ASHFIELD DISTRICT COUNCIL



Council Offices, Urban Road, Kirkby in Ashfield Nottingham NG17 8DA

Agenda

Annual Meeting of the Council

Date:Thursday, 23rd April, 2020Time:10.00 amVenue:Ashfield District Council's YouTube ChannelFor any further information please contact:Lynn CainI.cain@ashfield.gov.uk01623 457317

COUNCIL Membership

Chairman: Vice-Chairman: The Late Councillor Tony Brewer Councillor Andy Meakin

Councillors:

John Baird Kier Barsby Christian Chapman Melanie Darrington Andy Gascoyne Arnie Hankin David Hennigan Trevor Locke Sarah Madigan Lauren Mitchell Warren Nuttall Kevin Rostance Dave Shaw Helen-Ann Smith Lee Waters Daniel Williamson Jason Zadrozny

Chris Baron Jim Blagden Ciaran Brown Samantha Deakin Dale Grounds Andrew Harding Tom Hollis Rachel Madden David Martin Keir Morrison Matthew Relf Phil Rostance John Smallridge **David Walters** Caroline Wilkinson John Wilmott

FILMING/AUDIO RECORDING NOTICE

This meeting may be subject to filming or audio recording. If you have any queries regarding this, please contact Members' Services on 01623 457317.

SUMMONS

You are hereby requested to attend a virtual meeting of the Council to be held at the time and date mentioned above for the purpose of transacting the business set out below.

CACauthin /

Carol Cooper-Smith Chief Executive

AGENDA

- 1. To receive apologies for absence, if any.
- 2. Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary or Personal Interests and Non Disclosable Pecuniary/Other Interests.
- 3. To elect the Chairman for the ensuing year.
- 4. The newly elected Chairman to make the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.
- 5. Vote of thanks to the late retiring Chairman.
- 6. To elect the Vice Chairman for the ensuing year.
- 7. The newly elected Vice Chairman to make the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.
- 8. To receive and approve as correct records the minutes of the 5 34 meetings of the Council held on 13 February and 5 March 2020.
- 9. To receive any announcements from the Chairman or Head of Paid Service.
- 10. In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 1.1(viii) and (ix), to be told by the Leader of the composition of the Executive for the coming year and the names of Members appointed to the Cabinet and the Scheme of Delegation for the Discharge of Executive Functions. (Scheme of Delegation to be circulated separately)
- 11. In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 1.3(i) to (iv), to determine the appointment of Committees, Panels and Working Groups etc. for the ensuing year with Terms of Reference as set out in Part 3, 1.8 of the Constitution.

Accordingly, the Council is requested to appoint the following Committees, Panels and Working Groups (including appointment of Chairmen, Vice Chairmen and membership seats):-

	Overview and Scrutiny Committee Scrutiny Panel A Scrutiny Panel B Planning Committee Licensing Committee Audit Committee Local Joint Consultative Committee Chief Officers' Employment Committee Standards and Personnel Appeals Committee Charites Committee Local Plan Working Group (Schedule of committee memberships to be circulated separately)	
12.	In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 1.1(x), to approve a programme of ordinary meetings of the Council for the ensuing year.	35 - 40
13.	Annual Constitution Review.	41 - 48
14.	The Independent Remuneration Panel's Review of the Ashfield District Council Members' Allowances Scheme.	49 - 84
15.	Corporate Peer Challenge Update.	85 - 96
16.	Recommendations from Cabinet - 23 March 2020.	97 - 112
17.	In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 1.3(v), to approve appointments to outside bodies for the ensuing year. (Schedule of appointments to outside bodies to be circulated	113 - 118

, separately)